The May 20-21, 2012 Annular Solar Eclipse

This is the first annular eclipse to be seen from the
United States in 18 years - not to be missed.

Local Times and Detailed Maps for Japan, California,
Utah, Arizona, New Mexico, Texas and Alaska

Nick Anthony Fiorenza

Annular Eclipse


The eclipse starts in Asia, near Hong Kong at 20:56 UT on May 20, 2012, and ends in the US at 02:49 UT on May 21, 2012. The eclipse path crosses the Northern Pacific Ocean and aligns with the Ring of Fire at three key places. It moves along the coast of Japan, over Tokyo and Mt. Fuji, and crosses the Japan Trench. It then follows along the Aleutian Trench, along the Alaska Aleutian Islands where the greatest eclipse (GE) occurs. It then crosses the Cascadia subduction zone in Northern California between Crescent City and Eureka. The path continues across Mt. Shasta and the Lassen Volcano (the southern-most volcano in the Cascade Range), across Nevada and southwest Utah. It then crosses over northeast Arizona, over Page and Canyon De Chelly, also visible from the Grand Canyon. It then moves across central New Mexico, over Albuquerque, and ends near Lubbock Texas. An Annular Solar Eclipse is also called a "Ring of Fire" because the Moon's disc is somewhat smaller than the Sun's disc, making a solar ring appear around the eclipsing Moon.

2011 Annular Eclipse captured by NASA's Hinode satellite.

May 20, 2012 Eclipse Path
Global Visibility

Image: Fred Espenak, NASA's GSFC


Generally, the eclipse begins about 1 to 1.5 hours before the "greatest eclipse" in your area. The eclipse will start as a partial eclipse. Annularity will then begin. Total Annularity will occur for about 3 to 6 minutes around the greatest eclipse time depending on your area. Annularity will be seen if you are in areas indicated by the blue bands in the maps below. A partial eclipse is visible from a much larger region covering East Asia, North Pacific, North America and Greenland, shown in the image to the right. The ecipse is visible in the US west of the Mississippi River.

The eclipse occurs just after sunrise in Japan and towards sunset in the United States. The Eclipse occurs before the New Moon in Japan and after the New Moon in the US.

The Sun will still be in a partial eclipse during sunset in the US, creating a fantastic photographic opportunity.

NASA ScienceCast: Solar Eclipse in the USA

*** Observing and Photographing Eclipses Safely

(Try your local hardware store for #12 - #14 welding glass.)

Detailed Maps of Japan, California, Utah, Arizona, New Mexico, Texas & Alaska

The Eclipse Path in Japan

May 20, 2012 Japan Eclipse Path

The Eclipse occurs just after Sunrise in Japan.

Note: Duration of Annularity centers around Maximum eclipse time.

Kagoshima Area
Duration of Annularity: 4m17.8s
Start partial eclipse: May20, 21:12 UT
(May 21, 6:12 AM JST)
Maximum eclipse: May20, 22:22 UT
(May 21, 7:22 AM JST)

End partial eclipse: May20, 23:42 UT
(May 21, 8:42 AM JST)

Osaka
Duration of Annularity: 3m48.9s
Start partial eclipse: May20, 21:16 UT
(May 21, 6:16 AM JST)
Maximum eclipse: May20, 22:29 UT
(May 21, 7:29 AM JST)

End partial eclipse: May20, 23:53 UT
(May 21, 8:53 AM JST)

Tokyo Mt. Fuji
Duration of Annularity: 5m04s
Start partial eclipse: May 20, 21:19 UT
(May 21, 6:19 AM JST)
Maximum eclipse: May 20, 22:34 UT
(May 21, 7:34 AM JST)

End partial eclipse: May 21, 00:02 UT
(May 21, 9:02 AM JST)

New Moon: 8:47:00 AM JST
Note: The Eclipse occurs before the New Moon in Japan.

The Eclipse Path in the United States

May 20, 2012 Japan Eclipse Path

New Moon Times (US)

May 20, 2012 23:47 UT
May 20, 4:47 PM PDT / MST
May 20, 5:47 PM MDT
May 20, 6:47 PM CDT
May 20, 7:47 PM EDT

Note: The Eclipse occurs after the
New Moon in the US.

The Eclipse Path in Oregon, Northern California and Western Nevada

May 20, 2012 California Eclipse Path

Northern California General Eclipse Time: ~6:27 PM PDT
Start of Partial Eclipse: 5:10 PM PDT End of Partial Eclipse: 7:35 PM PDT

WASHINGTON Partial Eclipse
Seattle area:
6:18 PM PDT Spokane area: 6:19 PM PDT

OREGON Partial Eclipse
Portland area:
6:21 PM PDT Eugene area: 6:23 PM PDT

CALIFORNIA Partial Eclipse
San Fran area:
6:33 PM PDT L.A. area: 6:38 PM PDT San Diego: 6:40 PM PDT

Note: Duration of Annularity centers around Maximum eclipse time.

Crescent City, CA
Duration of Annularity: 4m45.4s
Start of partial eclipse: May 21, 00:08:01 UT
(May 20, 5:08:01 PM PDT)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:26:21 UT
(May 20, 6:26:21 PM PDT)

End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:35:14 UT
(May 20, 7:35:14 PM PDT) Sunset: 8:35 PM

Ashland, OR
Duration of Annularity: 3m03.6s
Start of partial eclipse: May 21, 00:08:48 UT
(May 20, 5:08:48 PM PDT)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:26:09 UT
(May 20, 6:26:09 PM PDT)

End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:34:23 UT
(May 20, 7:34:23 PM PDT) Sunset: 8:31 PM

Mt. Shasta
Duration of Annularity: 4m35.1s
Start of partial eclipse: May 21, 00:10:30 UT
(May 20, 5:10:30 PM PDT)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:27:35 UT
(May 20, 6:27:35 PM PDT)

End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:35:31 UT
(May 20, 7:35:31 PM PDT) Sunset: 8:27 PM

Lassen Volcanic National Park
Duration of Annularity: 4m42.4s
Start of partial eclipse: May 21, 00:12:13 UT
(May 20, 5:12:13 PM PDT)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:28:41 UT
(May 20, 6:28:41 PM PDT)

End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:36:06 UT
(May 20, 7:36:06 PM PDT) Sunset: 8:23 PM

Tahoe
Duration of Annularity: 2m56.5s
Start of partial eclipse: May 21, 00:16:05 UT
(May 20, 5:16:05 PM PDT)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:31:31 UT
(May 20, 6:31:31 PM PDT)

End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:37:59 UT
(May 20, 7:37:95 PM PDT) Sunset: 8:11 PM

Pyramid Lake (Sutcliffe), Nevada
Duration of Annularity: 4m41.1s
Start of partial eclipse: May 21, 00:14:50 UT
(May 20, 5:14:50 PM PDT)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01 :30:08 UT
(May 20, 6:30:08 PM PDT)

End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:36:37 UT
(May 20, 7:36:37 PM PDT) Sunset: 8:12 PM

The Eclipse Path in Utah and Arizona

May 20, 2012 Utah-Arizona Eclipse Path

Las Vegas, Nevada - Partial Solar Eclipse
Start of partial eclipse: May 21, 00:23:34 UT (May 20, 5:23:34 PM PDT)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:35:42 UT (May 20, 6:35:42 PM PDT)
End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:39:34 UT (May 20, 7:39:34 PM PDT)

Utah General Eclipse Time: ~7:30-7:38 PM MDT

Salt Lake City, Utah - Partial Solar Eclipse
Start of partial eclipse: May 21, 00:18:43 UT (May 20, 6:18:43 PM MDT)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:29:26 UT (May 20, 7:29:26 PM MDT)
End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:32:44 UT (May 20, 8:32:44 PM MDT)

Arizona General Eclipse Time: ~6:35 PM MST

Lake Havasu - Partial Solar Eclipse
Start of partial eclipse: May 21, 00:26:27 UT (May 20, 5:26:27 PM MST)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:37:43 UT (May 20, 6:37:43 PM MST)
End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:40:51 UT (May 20, 7:40:51 PM MST)

Flagstaff / Sedona / Prescott / Williams area - Partial Solar Eclipse
Start of partial eclipse: May 21, 00:26 UT (May 20, 5:26 PM MST)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:37 UT (May 20, 6:37 PM MST)
End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:39 UT (May 20, 7:39 PM MST)

Sho Low / Snowflake area - Partial Solar Eclipse
Start of partial eclipse: May 21, 00:28 UT (May 20, 5:28 PM MST)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:37 UT (May 20, 6:37 PM MST)
End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:39 UT (May 20, 7:39 PM MST)

Phoenix / Tucson area - Partial Solar Eclipse
Start of partial eclipse: May 21, 00:29 UT (May 20, 5:29 PM MST)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:39 UT (May 20, 6:39 PM MST)
End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:41 UT (May 20, 7:41 PM MST)

Note: Duration of Annularity centers around Maximum eclipse time.

Caliente, Nevada
Duration of Annularity: 4m24.0s
Start partial eclipse: May 21, 00:21:44 UT
(May 20, 5:21:44 PM PDT)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:33:44 UT
(May 20, 6:33:44 PM PDT)

End partial eclipse: May 21, 02:37:40 UT
(May 20, 7:37:40 PM PDT)
Sunset: 7:45 PM

St. George
Duration of Annularity: 4m12.5s
Start partial eclipse: May 21, 00:22:59 UT
(May 20, 6:22:59 PM MDT)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:34:23 UT
(May 20, 7:34:23 PM MDT)

End partial eclipse: May 21, 02:37:52 UT
(May 20, 8:37:52 PM MDT)
Sunset: 8:40 PM

Grand Canyon Village
Duration of Annularity: 3m13.8s
Start partial eclipse: May 21, 00:25:09 UT
(May 20, 5:25:09 PM MST)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:35:36 UT
(May 20, 6:35:36 PM MST)

End partial eclipse: May 21, 02:38:20 UT
(May 20, 7:38:20 PM MST)
Sunset: 7:32 PM

Page
Duration of Annularity: 4m31.5s
Start partial eclipse: May 21, 00:24:15 UT
(May 20, 5:24:15 PM MST)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:34:28 UT
(May 20, 6:34:28 PM MST)

End partial eclipse: May 21, 02:37:06 UT
(May 20, 7:37:06 PM MST)
Sunset: 7:31 PM

Window Rock
Duration of Annularity: 4m25.1s
Start partial eclipse: May 21, 00:2 UT
(5:26:53 PM MST)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:35:38 UT
(May 20, 6:35:38 PM MST)

End partial eclipse: May 21, 02:37:10 UT
(May 20, 7:37:10 PM MST)
Sunset: 7:19 PM MST (add 1hr for MDT)

Note: Arizona uses standard time. Native American Reservations in Arizona use daylight savings time.

The Eclipse Path in New Mexico & Texas

May 20, 2012 New Mexico / Texas Eclipse Path

Note: Duration of Annularity centers around Maximum eclipse time.

Aztec, NM
Duration of Annularity: 2m35.9s
Start of partial eclipse: May 21, 00:25:41 UT (May 20, 6:25:41 PM MDT)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:34:03 UT (May 20, 7:34:03 PM MDT)
End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:35:24 UT (May 20, 8:35:24 PM MDT)
Sunset: 8:17 PM

Albuquerque, NM
Duration of Annularity: 4m26.4s
Start of partial eclipse: May 21, 00:28:22 UT (May 20, 6:28:22 PM MDT)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:35:50 UT (May 20, 7:35:50 PM MDT)
End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:36:25 UT (May 20, 8:36:25 PM MDT)
Sunset: 8:08 PM

Ruidoso, NM
Duration of Annularity: 2m26.1s
Start of partial eclipse: May 21, 00:30:52 UT (May 20, 6:30:52 PM MDT)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:37:33 UT (May 20, 7:37:33 PM MDT)
End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:37:27 UT (May 20, 8:37:27 PM MDT)
Sunset: 8:28 PM

Lubbock, Texas
Duration of Annularity: 4m13.9s
Start of partial eclipse: May 21, 00:31:02 UT (May 20, 7:31:02 PM CDT)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 01:36:01 UT (May 20, 8:36:01 PM CDT)
End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:34:47 UT (May 20, 9:34:47 PM CDT)
Sunset: 8:45 PM

The Eclipse in Alaska

May 20, 2012 Alaska Eclipse Path

Greatest Eclipse:
Lat.: 49.0943° N Long.: 176.2775° E
Duration of Annularity: 5m46.3s
Start of partial eclipse: May 20, 22:15:40 UT
Start of annular eclipse: May 20, 23:49:53 UT
Maximum eclipse: May 20, 23:52:46 UT
End of annular eclipse: May 20, 23:55:39 UT
End of partial eclipse: May 21, 01:32:41 UT

Ankorage, Alaska
Start of partial eclipse: May 20, 23:17:01 UT
(May 20, 3:17:01 PM YDT)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 00:37:53 UT
(May 20, 4:37:53 PM YDT)

End of partial eclipse: May 21, 01:53:51 UT
(May 20, 5:53:51 PM YDT)
Sunset: 10:55 PM

Juneau, Alaska
Start of partial eclipse: May 20, 23:36:54 UT
(May 20, 3:36:54 PM YDT)
Maximum eclipse: May 21, 00:54:13 UT
(May 20, 4:54:13 PM YDT)

End of partial eclipse: May 21, 02:05:20 UT
(May 20, 6:05:20 PM YDT)
Sunset: 9:30 PM

May 20, 2012 Pleiades New Moon

New Moon: 3:47:00 PM YDT
New Moon Coordinates: 20N13 / 177W36 (west of Hawaii)
Greatest Eclipse Coordinates: 49° 05.3' N 176° 16.8' E

Eclipse Resources:

NASA: Interactive Eclipse Map
(Find when and where the eclipse occurs in your area)

Eclipse Predictions by Fred Espenak, NASA's GSFC

Observing and Photographing Eclipses Safely

NASA Solar Eclipses 2011-2020